2011 is here! What now?

 HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

Bill Vaughn said, “Youth is when you’re allowed to stay up late on New Year’s Eve.  Middle age is when you’re forced to.”  I’d like to add my two cents worth:  Old age is when you sleep through New Year’s Eve.

If the shoe fits, wear it.

This is my last day for organizing tips.  I hope you will let me know if you plan to try any of them.  Or even better, share your tips with me.  

Limit your social networking time.   Facebook is fun, no doubt.  And I guess it’s a legal way to snoop, to be the ultimate nosey neighbor.  If we are not very careful, however, it can eat up our time.  Be aware.  Set a timer.  Limit yourself.  If necessary, be accountable to someone.

Don’t buy so much.  This is a no-brainer.  I can be tempted to buy what I don’t really need because marketers are so good at their jobs.  The glitz is enticing.  The price may be right.  But if I don’t need it, it really isn’t a bargain.  Ask yourself these two questions:  Do I really need it?  Where will I put it? 

If something comes in, something must go out.  This is an appendix to the above.  If you make this a rule when you shop, it might help curtail some impulse buying. 

As I continue with my January organization (begun in December), I am serious about paring down.  It is difficult.  Simplicity is a  far off destination, it seems.  But I’m on the right road.

I remember a quote attributed to WIlliam Morris (1834-1896):

“Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.”

I’m not sure I am there yet.  I can easily pick out the useful and the beautiful items.  What stops me dead in my tracks are things that I might need in the future.  I just never know when I will find a use for all those popsicle sticks, the boxes of fabric, a half set of mittens, the clothes that will fit when I lose 20 pound, or old scarves that are sure to come back in style.   Sometimes I think I’m a hopeless keeper of stuff. 

I encourage myself that even the Bible mentions people and their stuff.  Genesis 31:37 is talking about Jacob.  Applying it to me is a bit out of context.  Actually, it is very much out of context.  But here is the verse anyway:

Whereas thou hast searched all my stuff, what hast thou found of all thy household stuff?  (King James Version)

That’s me in a nut shell.  

One thing for sure about this brand new year.  I will be held accountable for the way I spend it.  I’d better spend it wisely.

Happy New Year and Good Organizing to you.

5 thoughts on “2011 is here! What now?

  1. Thanks for the great info. this room pictured on your last post can’t be in your house. It looks to much like one in my house. Lord help me. What to do with all this stuff??? Its hard to decide what is unnecessary to keep. I just have an attachment to my stuff. I surely don’t want my kids talking about Mom had a problem when they have to help me do something with all this stuff. I do have lots of Beautiful useful things in storage not being used now, but maybe some day someone will remember me for them. I’m not sure I can do this Peggy I need a personal organizer that has no attachment to all this stuff. I think her prespective would be better. Oh my what to do. You sure about that something out before something in. ” CAN I BRING IT OVER TO YOUR HOUSE TO HOLD FOR ME JUST IN CASE I NEED IT LATER” it would be out of mine into yours. What do you think I’m I getting this lesson yet??? Help!!

    • Elaine, you make me smile with this comment. Please don’t think I have arrived yet. I am on the journey, like you. With a son and three grandchildren, I have to wonder if any of them will want some of the things I’ve saved. So I hold on a little longer.

  2. I am well known for not keeping anything. Or at least, I used to be. Over the past 4 years I have accumulated a ton of “stuff” in my garage. I have no idea where it all came from. I have a saying ya know, as I think a lot of us do, and that saying is, “If I haven’t seen it in 4 years, I wont miss it now” so I throw everything out. Well recently I sent my oldest son out to clean out my garage in exchange for his computer that he has now. Well what do ya know…I am missing a box of Christmas ornaments! UGGG!! Haven’t seen it in a year? That means, I won’t miss it right? HAH yeah right! I sure missed that one. So in 2011 I am just going to have to suck it up and take myself out to organize my garage. If ya’ll don’t hear from me…please send a rescue squad to dig me out lol.

    • Nice to hear from you, Velvet. I have a relative who finds it very easy to toss out things that clutter. It is more difficult for me. I’m glad you found your Christmas ornaments. I’ll be looking for you on FB just to be sure you didn’t get swallowed up in the garage 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Let's talk.

