Second Tuesday in November

Today is election day in the United States of America. It seems we have not been particularly united of late.

flags

I woke with the thoughts of campaigns ending, the circus it has all been finally leaving town. And the Spirit sings to me, “Our God is in control.”

As I sit in my rocker in the pre-dawn hours, coffee and Bible in hand, I pray for my country, sweet land of liberty, land that I love. Today marks a day of changes, no matter how the pendulum swings.

Sweet William and I went early to the polls to cast our ballots. The parking lot was full and people waited in line to vote. I hope that is an indication that we care about the election outcome, that we are willing to be responsible citizens, that the invasion of lethargy and hopelessness has not won a battle.

100_1782

No matter what tomorrow’s result, I know this one thing for certain: My God is in control.

An old refrain echos the same, “I don’t know who holds tomorrow, but I know who holds my hand.”

And still another melody from my childhood offers comfort,

“Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus, just to take Him at His word. Just to rest upon His promise, just to know ‘Thus saith the Lord’.”

Today I will hope in the Lord. His Truth still marches on.

Today I will trust in Jesus. He is the same, yesterday, today, and forever.

Today I will sing and rejoice in my salvation with thanksgiving, for this is God’s will for me.

Today I will choose joy no matter the outcome.

Because my God is in control.

100_3221

2 thoughts on “Second Tuesday in November

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Let's talk.

